Essential sites

Cathedrals, churches and abbeys
Cathédrale Notre-Dame d'Amiens
A UNESCO heritage site.
Proof of real technical genius, the Notre-Dame d'Amiens cathedral demonstrates architectural harmony. Built from 1220 to 1288, its size makes it one of the biggest Gothic buildings ever built: 145 m long, 42 m high, and a total volume of 200,000 m3. Its indoor and outdoor statuary is just as remarkable as its architecture. Since it was restored, the polychromy of its Gothic doors has become a main reference. This revelation gave rise to the "Amiens, a cathedral in colours" show, which offers a reproduction of the original medieval colours.

Place Notre Dame
Tél : +33 3 22 71 60 50

Museums and places of interest
Maison de Jules Verne
After major renovation works, the "House with the Tower" in Amiens, where Jules Verne lived from 1882 to 1900, once again offers visitors a space where the imaginary world and the daily life of the famous writer mix.
This luxury 19th century mansion house witnessed the success of the writer, who wrote most of his "Extraordinary Voyages" there.
Both imposing and modest, on four levels and through over 700 objects in the Amiens Metropole collection, the house reveals the personality, sources of inspiration and memories of Jules Verne.
From the conservatory to the attic, relive the adventures of his heroes: Michel Strogoff, Phileas Fogg, Captain Nemo, etc.

2 rue Charles Dubois
Tél : +33 3 22 45 45 75 - +33 3 22 45 45 78
"Tourisme et Handicap" Label:
Hearing handicap - Mental handicap - Motor handicap

Museums and places of interest
Musée de Picardie
This charming brick and flint residence is private. Only the grounds can be visited, in summer, by appointment!

2 rue Puvis de Chavannes
Tél : +33 3 22 97 14 00

Town visits
Quartier Saint-Leu d'Amiens
In the Middle Ages, water and mills set the pace of the city. Narrow streets with historical names attest to the city's past based on crafts. Today, art galleries, bookshops, boutiques and antique dealers mingle with the inhabitants of this district with its narrow and colourful houses. By foot, boat or in a horse-drawn carriage, take the time to discover Saint-Leu. Sit on a terrace to admire the Notre-Dame cathedral, or try out one of the "trendy" bars later on. Early birds will enjoy the "Water market" on Saturday morning.

Office de Tourisme d'Amiens Métropole
Tél : +33 3 22 71 60 50

Cathedrals, churches and abbeys
Abbatiale Saint Pierre
Gothic building characterised by its impressive façade. One of the last witnesses of the powerful Benedictine abbey of Corbie, whose influence spread all over Europe. The church houses a number of treasures: relics, statues, plan of the Abbey before the Revolution and model of the building.

Rue Charles de Gaulle
Tél : +33 3 22 96 95 76

Museums and places of interest
Citadelle de Doullens
The origin of the name "Courtgain" comes from "small wages" and it refers to the picturesque sailors' district, crossed by two little parallel streets: the Rue des Moulins and the Rue des Pilotes which ends near the sailors' wayside cross and oratory with wonderful views. The closely terraced houses date from the late 18th and early 19th century. They are built with bricks, some parts in cob, with a black base, the rest painted in bright colours, according to the age-old tradition of the fishermen who manned the shrimp boats known as "sauterelliers". The district, decked with lovely flowers, stages the Fête de la Mer every summer.

Nationale 25
Tél : +33 9 54 11 88 61 - +33 3 22 71 83 83

Museums and places of interest
Musée Lombart
This museum was donated to the town of Doullens in 1908 by Jules François Lombart, a wealthy chocolate manufacturer and keen art collector. There are works by Corot, Chardin, Daubigny and Poulbot (who came from a local family) plus Egyptian objects, including a mummy, and archaeological finds. The museum with its eclectic collection also has a lovely French formal garden.

7 rue du musée
Tél : +33 3 22 77 02 55

Site de Folleville
Remains of a medieval castle and church, with UNESCO World Heritage status due to their connection with the Santiago de Compostella pilgrim way. The church houses the striking tombs of the Lords of Folleville in Carrara marble, an example of the Italian Renaissance having spread as far as Picardy. Below the castle is a village where traces of its past and its setting are reconstituted.

2 rue Saint-Vincent
Tél : +33 3 22 41 49 52

Remembrance sites
Mémorial National Australien de Villers-Bretonneux
This imposing memorial, standing at the end of a vast cemetery, pays tribute to the Australian soldiers who perished during the Great War. It was in Villers-Bretonneux that they finally halted the German offensive in April 1918. Anzac Day is commemorated there every year in April.

RD 23
Tél : +33 3 22 96 95 76

Archaeology, cave
Part of the museum is given over to local archaeological discoveries. Displayed in glass cases they help us picture daily life in the Middle Ages.

Rue d'Amiens
Tél : +33 3 22 71 83 83
"Tourisme et Handicap" Label:
Mental handicap - Motor handicap

Town visits
Cité Médiévale de Lucheux
The only Medieval City in the Somme with the three monuments that symbolise the medieval past of France: the 12th to 13th-century fortified castle with its exceptional machicolations, the Romanesque church with its 12th century capitals and the 13th century belfry, a UNESCO heritage site.

Tél : +33 3 22 32 54 52

Archaeology, cave
Cité Souterraine de Naours
The limestone of the Picardy plateau was dug out in many places to form refuges. These refuges were called "muches" (hideouts in Picard language). Those in Naours, rediscovered at the end of the last century, are the largest known: all the underground areas combined can house around 2,600 people with their livestock. The layout is remarkable: around 300 chambers, public squares, stables, wells, chimneys, and a chapel with three naves. These underground areas were used by the British forces during the First World War and were used as the headquarters of the German forces during the second world war. Exhibitions of traditional trades.
In the park: games, 2 windmills from the 18th century.

5 rue des Carrières
Tél : +33 3 22 93 71 78

Château de Picquigny
Take a fresh look at history in the ruined castle of Picquigny. All year round escape game rooms in total historical immersion help you understand fragments of the history of this castle. In summer Picquigny castle is open to the public in the afternoon. Use our well written, illustrated guide to explore the many facets of this site at your own pace. Treasure hunt for youngsters. In summer there are unusual torchlight tours on Friday evenings or at other times for groups (book ahead). School groups and school holiday leisure centre groups are welcome from April to August for a full or half day - group workshops (heraldry, illumination, calligraphy, treasure hunt). escape game or torchlight tour. Team building and other private events can be organised with medieval meal and activities and/or escape game. Standing high above the Somme valley for many centuries, the ruins of Picquigny castle are both imposing and picturesque. Climb up to the barbican gate, once a drawbridge, to get a real idea of the castle's past greatness. The tall imposing façade of the main building is truly striking. Then walk along the fortifications to the Gard gateway, the Renaissance style Sévigné wing and the collegiate church open in summer. The Sévigné wing was so named in honour of Madame de Sévigné, a famous woman of letters, who stayed for four days in Picquigny castle in April 1689. When writing to her daughter, Mme de Sévigné compared the castle to that of Grignan and mentioned the river Somme. "After dinner we arrived here at a mansion that displayed all the pride of the heiress of Pecquigni. It is an old house built on an eminence above the town, like Grignan; a fine chapter, as at Grignan, a dean and twelve canons: I know not whether the foundations be as handsome but there are terraces on the borders of the river Somme which winds in a thousand meanders through the fields, which indeed are not to be found at Grignan.

chemin de Fourdrinoy
Tél : +33 3 22 27 05 32

Remembrance sites
Vignacourt 14-18
Immerse yourself totally in this very human story of the First World War, far from the turmoil at the front, in the village of Vignacourt. Louis and Antoinette Thuillier were keen photographers and immortalized their meetings with soldiers from all over the world right here on their farm. The couple took over 4,000 glass plate photographs between 1916 and 1918. At the end of the war the plates were stored in the farm attic and forgotten, until now. In the very barn on the farm where all this took place, Valérie and her team can tell you all about the photographs on display - an added and rather poignant dimension to your visit. The presentation is lively and full of interest, perfectly suited to this place of remembrance where small events help us gain a greater understanding of History.

196 Rue d'Amour
Tél : +33 9 70 20 08 02